1960- College of Administration

The University of Ghana Business School was established as the College of Administration by Executive Instrument – (E.I.127) at Achimota, Accra in January, 1960.  It started business on the 22nd January, 1960, on the old Western Compound of Achimota with the old Department of Commerce of the Kumasi College of Technology, established in 1952, (now KNUST) as its nucleus.

1962- School of Administration

The School was renamed School of Administration (SOA) and University of Ghana Business School (UGBS) in 1962 and 2004 respectively.
Before the School was departmentalised in 2004, there were only (4) four units namely:

  • Accounting Unit
  • Management Unit
  • Public Administration Unit
  • Health Services Administration Unit

2004- University of Ghana Business School

It was after 2004 that the school was departmentalized into six departments.[4] these departments are, Accounting, Finance, Marketing and Entrepreneurship, Organization and Human Resource Management, Operations and Management Information Systems and finally Public Administration and Health Management.